Thursday, July 7, 2011

Dealbook.ie - How rude!

So, last week, I was the proud recipient of a piece of unsolicited commercial mail from a new company called dealbook.ie, one of the several million Groupon-y things launched in the last month or so. So, according to The Twitter, did many other people. I, in common with all normal people, don't care for unsolicited commercial email, so I was a bit miffed.

The odd thing about it was that I was addressed as "Dear Robert", and it apparently knew I was male, presenting this charming bit of sexism:

We have a section for him and a section for her, so you won't need to be bothered by the girly stuff.

The interesting thing about this is that it indicates that they got my name and email, and probably gender, from some list or other. I was understandably fascinated to see what list I was on that was being used by random companies for commercial email, so emailed and asked. A week later, no response.

I think, really, if you're going to send people unsolicited commercial mail, the very least you can do is answer them when they try to find out where the hell you got their details. Most unimpressed.

A quick search of my email indicates that it's actually not the first mail I've had from them, either; the previous one was sent using a different bulk mailing solution, mere days after the company was registered.

10 comments:

  1. now how do i get ride of my account on the feckin website it wont allow me 2

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Robert.
    I also received one of there emails unsolicited.It appears they might be harvesting emails from Facebook. They should be reported.
    John

    ReplyDelete
  3. They have just had the same breakfast up on the site for weeks now... Thought this was a daly deals site.... Think that breakfast has gone off by now. Clowns!

    ReplyDelete
  4. abuse@hostek.com will probably get them a slap on the wrist, after a little bit of digging.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Dont call us clowns u wanker! an u robert u should shut ur moany hole. UNSUBSCRIBE an get a fuckin life!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I certainly hope the previous comment isn't REALLY from whoever runs the site. If nothing else, you'd expect them to be able to speak rudimentary English.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Hi Robert

    Just got one now myself. It says "you are getting these emails because you subscribed at some stage"

    I certainly did not do so intentionally. If I did not, then they are committing an offence and so I am reporting them to the Data Protection Office.

    Jack

    ReplyDelete
  8. Hi There.
    I heard allegedly from someone that they are harvesting all their emails from facebook.They are retrieving emails at the bottom of each page or they are using yahoo mail to import all contacts on friends lists.This is no way to build a database and is form of unsolicited email.They also claim to have a datebase of 300,000 and the company is only live a couple of months?

    ReplyDelete
  9. Hey Jack,
    Grow a pair, sprout a dick and go fuck yourself.
    Linda

    ReplyDelete