Scam-tastic!
Last week, there was a complaint on a boards.ie signature compliance thread about someone advertising a commercial website,
perfumeireland.com (link rel=nofollowed; I don't want to help him with his promotion). I dimly remembered seeing a different person spam-vertising said website some time ago. Before that, I remember a thread by the same person asking how to promote websites...
So, I had a look at his recent posts, and found
this. Looks okay at first, eh? See the quoted post from 'aoifesquife'? (the original message has now been deleted along with the user). Looks like a nice, innocent, third party, right? All "her" five posts were talking about the joys of perfumeireland, tho.
It didn't end there. There were about five supposed third parties advertising the site. All the same writing style and so forth, all acting like happy customers. So I started
this thread. Duplicates were confirmed, and banning happened, though disappointingly not of the original user.
And then, the original user got upset about people complaining about his deceptive marketing. Apparently, dishonest and deceptive marketing is fine, on the internet. Bizarre. He's spammed it on other forums as well (just google for thewaterboy), but boards.ie SEEMS to be the only one where such a scam has been pulled.
On the original post you will note that a customer has trouble with customs. Thewaterboy, outraged, says that in 500 transactions he's never had trouble before. Believe him? Of course you do.
But wait! What is this? Note that in that case he apparently didn't compensate the customer. What credibility.
It seems likely that this site is an affiliate site for
this. Looking at Barron's past posts on boards seems to back this up.